Home » Uncategorized » Motivational Movement

Motivational Movement

Today the 30 Day Blog Challenge asks for the following post:

Today’s assignment: write the post that was on your mind when you decided to start a blog.

Now, this won’t necessarily be the post that I was thinking of when I started this blog. To read that you can link to HERE where you will find my first post on this blog.

I have had a lot of change in my life. Many changes in jobs, living locations, relationships, family situations, and other aspects of my life have made me feel like I am constantly in a change washing machine, bouncing around being transformed from one thing to another. Two parts of my life motivated me to begin this blog.

First, my professional life. Being a teacher is something I am so good at, but I absolutely hate it. People call it a noble profession if only to mask the fact that it is a terrible jargon game, in which the same procedures are rebranded, repackaged, and then presented to an ever stupider teaching force as if it is a new, exciting technique that will somehow get their kids high scores on the state test that hasn’t been pilot tested and only exists because it is required and not to improve anything. Not only was I dissatisfied with the profession in general, I was also disappointed with my choice of subject area within the profession: music. This blog was meant to show how I transitioned from teaching music for the past 8 years to teaching math (which I like a lot more), and how ultimately I will transition into being an accountant and out of education altogether.

Second, my personal life. To say I chose a challenging partner would be an understatement. I am an introvert and a loner, so when I decided to accept a marriage proposal I didn’t realize the amount of work that would go into simply living with another person let alone sharing my entire life with him. I have been married for almost four years and this year I decided that while I couldn’t change my partner, I could change myself and how I reacted to him. I wanted to document for myself and others with similar concerns how I am going about making those changes.

This blog is meant to give me a place to write down how I am dealing with these things, while also attempting to assist others with my experiences, mistakes and explorations. If more people were willing to put aside their pride and take advice, maybe some mistakes wouldn’t happen as often. I hope to reach at least one person, and if I do I will have reached my goal.

Leave a Reply

