Home » Uncategorized » Introducing: Me!

Introducing: Me!

Over at The Daily Post I am participating in the 30 day blogging challenge. Today is the first challenge, and I need to introduce myself to you, the reader. The following questions were suggested, and I’d like to address each of them.

  • Why are you blogging, rather than keeping a personal journal?

The title of my blog is Mutatio Magistra, which in Latin roughly translates to “Changing Teacher.” I have been a public/private school teacher for the past 9 years and as I continue to teach, there are common themes that I feel reflect the system in both positive and negative ways and on which I would like to shed light. In addition to my professional life anecdotes, I feel that sharing aspects of my personal life is also useful to understanding the mind of an educator and seeing the changes I have to go through. Hopefully writing will not only help me keep order and understanding in my own life but to let other teachers know that they are not alone.

  • What topics do you think you’ll write about?

I will probably write about teaching, losing weight, my pets, my relationship with my spouse, and how my job affects my life and visa versa.

  • Who would you love to connect with via your blog?

I would love to connect with other teachers who have seen the man behind the curtain. What I mean by that is that I would love to know that there are other teachers out there who feel like their whole life shouldn’t necessarily revolve around the children, that they should get paid for the work they do outside of contracted hours, that potluck meals and bags of candy are not proper incentives or thank you methods. Teachers who enjoy what they do, yet still feel taken advantage of and don’t mind talking about it.

  • If you blog successfully throughout 2014, what would you hope to have accomplished?

I have three main goals for my blogging in 2014. First, I would like to increase my membership and see comments that are actually comments and not just pingbacks. Second, I would like to have clearly catalogued my life throughout the year, drawing inferences and making connections between events so I can learn from the things that have happened. And lastly I would like to have improved my writing so that it is grammatically and thematically awesome. 

If you have found me, welcome! I hope you stay. I go back to school on Monday, January 6th so there will be more stories to come!

One thought on “Introducing: Me!

  1. Pingback: Riding the mind behind strange eyes…Zero to hero Day 16 | alienorajt

Leave a Reply

