Home » Uncategorized » Transformation in Clay: Music to Math

Transformation in Clay: Music to Math

Sitting here on a Sunday morning, trying to get up the motivation to begin the large pile of grading I have to finish before tomorrow, I went once again to the inspiration of The Daily Prompt for my writing. 

Your personal sculptor is carving a person, thing, or event from the last month of your life into the glistening marble of immortality. What’s the statue and what makes it so significant?

It is worth noting that the current workforce in education is highly mobile. A teacher between the ages of 23 and 35 is more likely to switch jobs every 3-5 years than his or her older counterparts. It used to be in education that you began teaching at a school and that was your home for the next 30 years. I used to feel like I was a person that couldn’t hold down a job, or maybe I wasn’t “sucking it up” like people who had been teaching in the same place for 8-15 years. I have never been fired, and in the last 8 years I have taught at 9 different schools, 5 different public school districts, a private contracting company, a university, and for myself as a private lesson provider. 

In the past month and a half, I made the most drastic change. All of my teaching experience is in the area of music, and just recently I changed to teaching math at the high school level. And. I. Love. It. I love it so much. I leave school and see the marching band rehearsing out in the hot sun and I think “HA. SUCKERS!!” I love that I have 100 kids that I see every day instead of 600 kids that I see once a week (some on each day) so I can learn their names and try to reach them with different methods of behavior management and instruction.

The sculpture I would want made of myself would be one that signifies this change. Perhaps my feet and legs would be in some kind of mud, but in the mud there are music notes and treble clefs and other stupid symbols you see that make you think of music. Maybe one hand is still holding a trumpet or flute. But then there is an obvious diagonal shift across my body and at the top I am dressed more professionally, and my other hand is reaching up and grasping a book that seems to be pulling me out of the muck of music education. I don’t know, something like that. Something that symbolizes being saved from my past and accepting/celebrating the newness of the present. 

The study of music in ancient Greece was called the study of “harmonics” and it was essentially just a different kind of math. Music theory and the study of relationships between tones. The music of the spheres. That kind of stuff. The actual playing of instruments or singing was viewed as feminine, or less than the study of harmonics, and Plato stated that it should be done in moderation.

I hear you, P-Dawg. I’m coming back into the right side. 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Transformation in Clay: Music to Math

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Michelangelo’s You | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: How to immortalize an immortal | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Ascher bochor aabar hobe | Processing the life

  4. Pingback: The Thinker & Me | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

